Home » Photos » the Sea Dragon

the Sea Dragon

Although the Sea Dragon wasn’t added to Storytown until the eighties, I still consider it a fond memory of the park. I was pretty young when they added it and I remember being really scared of it. The head and tail ends of the ride were kind of horrifying. When they replaced it with the pirate ship I was pretty disgusted. I guess because I don’t see the reasoning behind it. Even if they moved the Sea Dragon to splashwater kingdom, it still would have fit the theme. Whatever, what’s done is done. Anyway, today I discovered that the Sea Dragon has been moved to Coney Island! Incredible, if it is in fact true.

SOURCE: whispers.smugmug.com2

3 thoughts on “the Sea Dragon

  1. Of course I do! Yes, I was so upset when I visited the park in 2005 and saw that the precious purple cow and pink whale, etc were gone..So sad. I guess it’s a relief to find out PoPo is back, on some level. I actually remember when the Steamin’ Demon was new. I hated how it obscured the Desperado Plunge.

  2. Yes, I think you’re right about it being “the” Sea Dragon. I have no factual back-up for this, except that I remember reading this someplace years ago. There probably is a way to find out if it’s true — did you know that there’s a Coney Island history museum? Here’s the link to their site: http://www.coneyisland.com/museum.shtml I live about 2 hours from Coney and go once a summer. I’d bet if you dropped them a line someone down there would either know where each ride came from or would point you in the right direction.

Leave a Reply

